Tag Archives: Metallica

BREAKING NEWS: Metallica reveals album title…

The boys in Metallica finally revealed their album title on their website. The name of their new studio album is “Death Magnetic”.

On their website, they’ve been putting together this weird code game where you have to figure out the words leading up to the album title.

“Death Magnetic” is scheduled to release sometime in September.

Check the band’s official website for more info:


Definitely a better title than “St. Anger”. “Death Magnetic” definitely sounds like a definitive Metallica album.

But honestly, a definitive Metallica album is not a “definitive” Metallica album without Jason Newstead. Jason Newstead pretty much defined the new era of Metallica.

I don’t really care for their new bassist Rob Trujillo though.


Report: Metallica setlist at Bonnaroo Festival – June 13th w/a few videos from the concert…

Bonnaroo Festival, the 3 day Festival happening in Tennessee as we read this, Metallica played their set Friday night, their setlist from that show:

01. Creeping Death
02. For Whom The Bell Tolls
03. Ride The Lightning
04. Harvester Of Sorrow
05. The Unforgiven
06. …And Justice For All
07. No Remorse
08. The Memory Remains
09. Fade To Black
10. Master Of Puppets
11. Whiplash
12. Nothing Else Matters
13. Sad But True
14. One
15. Enter Sandman
– – – – –
16. Last Caress
17. So What
18. Seek and Destroy

And a few live videos from that Bonnaroo concert in profesional quality below.


Metallica performing “Creeping Death”

Metallica performing “The Memory Remains”

Metallica performing “Master of Puppets”

Metallica performing “One”

Metallica performing “Enter Sandman”

Report: Where ever Metallica roams the internet…

Metallica is in the news again! Yep, more Metallica internet controversy since their infamous Napster battle 8 years ago. Metallica themselves invited some profesional music bloggers for a private listen of the entire new Metallica album but a few of the bloggers reviewed the album without the band’s consent.

Metallica wrote this on their official website, allowing fans to read those reviews by the bloggers selected:


Come on the boys in Metallica! This isn’t the 80’s anymore! You have to learn the 1st amendment online.

By reading the reviews myself, the album sounds great and can’t wait to hear it myself.



Report: Metallica, the Guitar Hero videogame for 2009???

First Aerosmith for Guitar Hero, and now Metallica is reportedly saying that they may release their own version of a Guitar Hero videogame that is dedicated to all Metallica songs.

Reports like this:


…confirms that Gamespot says Metallica will release a Guitar Hero videogame in 2009.

However, on Metallica’s official website, they gave it a hint that rumours has been leaked but they still keep things underwraps not really confirming it saying it “might” actually happen.


The band says “more details later this summer” so it must be true.

Will other legendary bands follow suit of their own Guitar Hero videogame? Why don’t Led Zeppelin make one? Maybe Ac/Dc or Black Sabbath/Ozzy?



Report: Lars Ulrich promises new Metallica album to be “dynamic”…

The boys in Metallica continue to hint the fans that this new album will be the best ever made in a long time. Lars explains the new album will include only 11 tracks and the songs will be long (the band came up with 26 songs for the album but of course had to choose a certain amount for one disc). The songs will be between 7 – 10 minutes long. The last couple of albums, Metallica has been writing shorter songs but now they’ve gotten back into writing long songs again like they used to do in the 80’s. Lars explains this record won’t be anything like you heard in the 90’s. This will be totally different than “Load”, “Re-load” and “St. Anger”.

Billboard reports:


The more I hear about the new album, the more it becomes an anticipated album to buy, I’m looking forward to it. Bring on the new Metallica album. Fuck what the haters say boys! Do your own thing!



Report: James Hetfield speaks on the new Metallica album…

Rollingstone magazine spoke with James Hetfield about the new Metallica album at Flea’s benefit show. James hinted in the interview that the band is bringing their past sound in their music today by describing the new album, “The direction is embracing our past in the now”.

Read the interview here:


From the clips I’ve heard of a new song in the “Mission: Metallica” website, it did kind of sound 80’s speed metal pretty damn close to it.

After the bomb of “St. Anger”, I think the band will get huge and successful again like they once were in the 80’s and early 90’s during the Black album days. I think the band want to get out of their “alternative” rock sound and go back to what they were before, a metal band. Hetfield just revealed that in the interview.

They need their metal and heavy sound back. They need their old fans back. I’m already feeling that their next album will be the best since the Black album.



BREAKING NEWS: “Mission: Metallica” UP NOW!!!!!!!!!!!

“Mission: Metallica” the new promotion site for the new Metallica album is launched now. It appears the band launched it a day early as a mother’s day gift for the fans but I was not online at the time to get a chance to get on it (I was either watching a movie or playing Grand Theft Auto IV most of the evening yesterday).

Go here and enjoy:


It’s basically going to be a countdown preview, like videos of Metallica recording the new album in the studio, and after all the videos are uploaded, I believe they will upload the new album on that site for us all to hear before it’s out in September.